Nigeria

Dear all,

Good Morning to you all and Praise the living God! I have certainly missed you but I am back in London now! We bless God for a great time in Lagos, it was absolutely amazing and I thank Him for journey mercies back! I went back, I even travelled within the country and came back with great news, no sorrow, no death, no accident, no bad news! Let His Name be praised above every other name!

I am back to regular blogging now and I have so many messages for you and I am very excited to share them with you. I’ve received so many revelations from God and I pray they will bless you. As you all know by now, I am originally Nigerian. I was born in England but I grew up in Nigeria up until I was 15 and then moved back to England, however, I’ve always gone back yearly and have kept a good relationship with Nigeria.

Today’s post is inspired from my three week break in Nigeria and I know that a large proportion of my readers are Nigerian or generally African and so I pray this blesses you. The first thing I noticed when I got to Nigeria was the electricity “situation” had improved. I tell you that when I was in Lagos  in April this year, we probably had the generator on for over 40hours a week and this time, I was in Nigeria for three weeks and in that time, the generator was used for less than 2 hours collectively; compared to 120 hours previously! I mean, that is a vast improvement! I can count the amount of times they “took light”. Absolutely amazing and I just began to praise the Lord because it was just amazing! I honestly couldn’t believe it; this is the same country where we had power for probably 12 hours a day at the most and I just believe that if Nigeria can make such a vast improvement in this area, Nigeria can and will become a great nation. The lack of electricity used to be one of our negative trademarks but today, they are leaving that behind. I am so proud, happy and believe that if we all believe, we can make major changes in other areas.

On the other hand, the horror stories of murders, kidnapping, armed robbery and bombings were very rampant and it’s just sad to see all this evil manifesting in our country but I want to tell you today that, everything that happens in the physical is first determined in the spirit realm and as Christians, we have authority to move and shakes things both in the spiritual and physical.

Ephesians 6:12– For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

Matthew 18:18- 20– Verily I say unto you, Whatsoever ye shall bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever ye shall loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven. Again I say unto you, That if two of you shall agree on earth as touching any thing that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of my Father which is in heaven. For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.

What am I saying here? As Christians, we can speak to God, we have the authority and as Nigerians, we can take up the case of our family, home, street, neighbourhood and country to Him. We have the authority and resources to stand in the gap and intercede! I am speaking from experience, one day I received bad news about something occurring in Nigeria and I prayed to God and said “Lord this is what I want” it was a really big stretch but I said it with all faith and power and to my surprise, I got the news within two days I believe and I was absolutely shocked and just thanked God!

It is not impossible! Why should we complain about things if we are not doing anything? Many of us pray for ourselves, our families but how many of us actually take five minutes to commit our dear country into God’s hands. In my Church, here in England, we pray for revival in England. For the past few months, that’s what we’ve been focused on! I just love it because as much as my blood is Nigerian, I am very British at heart as well, I was born here, I’ve worked here, did my A-Levels, BSc and Master’s here and so I pray for a revival in the UK but what about Nigeria? Let’s pray for this country that the Holy Spirit will touch us and bring an end to terrorism, war, violence and evil.

The last thing I want to speak about is injustice in Nigeria! Nigeria is a country where the rich are very rich and the poor; extremely poor! It is a country where there is a lot of injustice, a lot of people misuse their positions and bring about suffering, there’s looting of public funds, extreme theft in government and so much violence but I’m here to tell you that it all starts with you. How do you treat your domestic staff, your maid, cook or driver? I’ve heard about people beating their house maids, spitting in their faces, withholding their salaries from them, men forcing their maids to sleep with them or they would send them back to the village. What about people who bribe their lecturers to pass them or offer sex for good grades? There is just so much injustice. In certain companies, you don’t get in based on what you know but who you know. Even for many business owners, there can be a lot of lying, deceit and forgery involved. It’s very sad especially when Christians get caught up in this!

Hebrews 13:8- Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.

He is the same in England, China and Nigeria! We shouldn’t bend to society’s expectations just because we want to blend in.

Matthew 5:13-14– Ye are the salt of the earth: but if the salt have lost his savour, wherewith shall it be salted? it is thenceforth good for nothing, but to be cast out, and to be trodden under foot of men. Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid.

We are the salt and light of this world, we should not be conformed to what others are doing. I read something by Pastor E.A Adeboye that really changed my life forever. He said, if you have to lie, steal or commit sin to get something then that thing is not from the Lord. For example, when you cut down your age to apply for a job, or when you submit fake certificates or lie about your qualifications at a job interview! You are committing sin and you are not helping yourself! Stand firm on the Word of God, be true, be honest and be Holy and the Lord will do for you what no other man can do! Amen! That is your part, stand for God and stand firm!

Apart from praying for the nation, use your skills to bless the country! I have worked in England, I’ve schooled here and gathered so much knowledge and experience and I feel I need to bless my country! If God has called you to live in a developing country or you are from one, be a resource to your country. What has God called you to do? For me, I feel called to deal with the institution of marriage and the injustice done to women, I also feel called to help Nigeria become a flourishing nation that will attract tourists. What has God called you to do for Nigeria or your country? May your Name be among the list of people who the populous of your country will celebrate and applaud! Amen!

I pray for Nigeria today, that God will bring positive change to the country and will alleviate the suffering and injustice done to its people. I pray that the Lord’s name will reign supreme in every home, every firm, and meeting in that country! His Name will be glorified in the house of assembly and in every street corner and high place! I pray that there will be an uprising in that country and change will come to Nigeria! Injustice, corruption and violence shall be a thing of the past. I dare you to intercede for your country and spend ten minutes a day praying for Nigeria!

 

A Prayer for the Nations

Daily, international events are setting the stage for Jesus’ return. As believers in every land continue to pray on behalf of their leaders, God is pouring out His Spirit—making tremendous power available to guide the governments of every nation according to His divine will and plan. Psalms 2:8, The Amplified Bible, says, “Ask of Me, and I will give you the nations as your inheritance, and the uttermost parts of the earth for your possession.” As you stand for your nation or other nations of the world, you can pray the following:
Oh God in heaven, we come before You in the Name of Jesus on behalf of the leaders of Nigeria. First of all in accordance with I Timothy 2:1-2, we intercede and give thanks for kings and all in authority and expect to live a quiet and peaceable life. We pray for the Word of God to be given free course and Your people to be delivered from unreasonable and wicked men (II Thessalonians 3:1-2).
The heart of the king is in Your hand and You will turn it whichever way You choose (Proverbs 21:1). We ask You to direct the heart and mind of Goodluck Jonathan, Namadi Sambo and the Governor of my state- Babatunde Fashola to make decisions that will lead Nigeria in Your ways and according to Your Word.
We thank You, Lord, for bringing change to the politics of Nigeria. Thank You for changing
the voices of influence to speak in agreement with Your Word. We ask You to send laborers filled with the spirit of wisdom and might, to surround the leaders of Nigeria with Godly counsel and insight. We also ask You to remove from positions of authority those who stubbornly oppose righteousness, and replace them with men and women who will follow You and Your appointed course for Nigeria.
As we enter the final hours of the last days, we ask for the spirit of faith, the workings of miracles, for signs, wonders, gifts and demonstrations of the Holy Spirit and power to be in strong operation. Let believers in Nigeria and in every land be unified to stand strong by faith in Jesus, the Anointed One and His anointing, that Your glory may be revealed in all the earth.
Thank you, Lord, that these requests come to pass. We believe and receive. Amen.
I urge you to say this prayer everyday and pray about specific things that are affecting Nigeria, your state, local government and area. Pray for at least ten minutes everyday and lets see the power of God unfold before our eyes. What is bothering you about Nigeria, take it to God in prayer and remember that faith without works is dead- James 2:14. So, as we pray to God and make these positive declarations, let’s get out there put our hands to the plow. Some of us already know what it is we can do to help Nigeria, go ahead and do it and to those who are already active, may the Lord bless the works of your hands!! God bless Nigeria and God bless you all! I love you and see you tomorrow, by God’s Grace! Amen!
4 Comments

Filed under Agreement prayers, Communing with Christ, Leadership, Prayer, Serving God, Using your gifts

4 responses to “Nigeria

  1. Eva

    Awww sis
    I was just thinking about you this morning.
    Glad you are back In good health
    I love this post we have to pray for Nigeria more often

    • Dear Eva,
      You are welcome in Jesus’ Name! It is great to hear from you! Thank God for journey mercies and good health! We bless His Name!
      We must indeed pray for our country as much as we pray for ourselves and back this up with positive actions. It is well! I seriously and sincerely believe from the bottom of my heart that revival, progress and peace will come to that nation. AMEN.

  2. amaka

    glad your back POZ,am trying to get inspired by your zeaal for the country but personallly i had given up.Dont even watch nigerian news anymore.But truthfully the light situation has reallly improved,it is sommething to thank the lord about,little testimonies like that matter.I only think of nigeria when i dream of how am so going to train my children,give them the best education and they become a big light to this country.Personally i have resigned to only “lighting” up my neighbourhood.Being kind to people i come around in my llittle corner.I am going to take a cue from this post

    • Dear Amaka,
      You are welcome in Jesus’ Name and I am so glad to be back! My dear, I honestly gave up at some point as well but God is a good God and He put back this zeal, passion and faith in Nigeria back in me and I urge you to take time out to pray for our country and as you said, that little you do in your neighbourhood, stay faithful to it and try to extend it. The Lord is your strength. The country is its people and if more of us actually pray fervently for the country and do one thing for it, the nation will change! Let’s just pray for more leaders who will be faithful to God and His work. We need to pray for our leaders.

Leave a Reply

