Pain to Power

Good Morning everyone,

I’m sure a lot of you are singing “Thank God it’s Friday” in your respective offices! While you sing that, please remember your friend or neighbour or the readers who don’t get that chance because they haven’t had a job in years! Please remember those people, pray for them and if you’re good at job applications, why not sow some time into their life and help them? There are so many things we take for granted; if you have a job, why not start with “Thank God I have a job”. Amen. POZ has been live for a month and one day now, thank You Lord for your mercies and a huge thank you to all the readers, sharers and so on! I appreciate you all, may the Lord smile on you this season; may He bless, strengthen, favour, prosper and inspire you specially. Amen. To add to that, the prayer chain was initially meant to be up for one week but because of the amount of requests we got, I kept it much longer! It is now over a month and it is time to say good bye to the Prayer Chain; you can still send your prayer requests  via the “Prayer Requests” Page. Amen. God bless you all.

 

I’m sure we’ve all heard this saying- If life gives you lemons, make lemonade. It is not in the Bible but it is very true! Whatever situation you are in, regardless of the reason you’re in it, there is an opportunity for you to learn and make something out of it. I speak to people on a daily basis who are going through various circumstances; I pray for them, encourage them but I try to ask them- What is the Lord trying to teach you from this? Why are you going through something difficult? Is the Lord trying to build you into something? Turn your pain to power!

 

Some people mistakenly believe that all suffering is a result of sin.  However, Jesus Himself dispelled this notion when He healed a man who was blind from birth.  His disciples asked Jesus, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?”  Jesus answered, “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the work of God might be displayed in his life.” (John 9:1-3) 

My mother was born with sickle cell; I thank God and God alone that she made it past every single life expectancy and is still going strong. Right from infancy, I understood that she had an illness and I’ve always been sympathetic towards her. There were difficult times when I asked God why but today I understand why. I talk to people every day who don’t even know what Sickle Cell is or how it affects the person, they use many derogatory and ignorant words and I think to myself “If my mother and uncle didn’t have it, I would be the same”. Because of my mother and uncle, I know so much about sickle cell, I have done so much research, I know all the statistics, the remedies and how to care for a sufferer. Today, many people think that genotype is limited to AA AS SS; they are unaware of AC, SC and CC. If not for my close experience with Sickle Cell, I doubt I would have empathy towards those who suffer from it. Today, you can’t tell me that someone is SC or SS and I won’t pray for them. I still have a vision for the future; educating people on Sickle Cell; if I know so much about it, why not share? After all, my mother who is the sufferer has been trained as a genetic counsellor, she writes for the Nigerian Sickle Cell News & Journal and is a member of the UK Sickle Cell Society and frequently goes to Schools and Universities to give talks and seminars! I am extremely proud of her! She didn’t say “God how could you give me sickle cell”. She didn’t wallow in self pity, but she turned her experience into a very positive one and helps other sufferers and carriers alike. By the Grace of God, very soon I will be joining her; turning our pain into power!

 

(Galatians 6:2)- Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.

Many years ago when I was looking for a job, I found it extremely tasking and I felt I was going nowhere but I kept trying. After sometime, I got trained by a recruitment company on how to answer questions, how to maximise my CV, how to act in interviews and before long, I got my dream job! What I learned was extremely valuable and as such, I started helping others with their CVs, their job applications and their interview skills. Till this date, friends and family still send me their personal statements and job applications to help them with. My passion for helping people to look for jobs started because when I was unemployed, there wasn’t anyone to help me and when I finally got some help and it worked, I wanted to help others, so they wouldn’t stay in the pit of unemployment. Turn your pain to power!

 

(Matthew 6:12) So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.

When it comes to bad relationships, I don’t believe it was God’s first choice for you to learn by experience. There is a reason why God gives you certain criteria with regards to marriage and relationships; so you don’t go through bad experiences. But in the past, I got into a wrong relationship; at first there wasn’t anything particularly wrong with the relationship but now, with a lot more maturity and insight, I see that we were both not genuinely saved or mature, we were unequally yoked and a bunch of other factors. I had bad experiences from the relationship which was what led me to Pastor Kingsley’s Ministry and I felt this strong burden for women. When I went through what I did, nobody was there for me. I began to ask God, are there others like me? Who is taking care of them? What about the ones worse off? That was when I developed a serious burden for women and felt the need to educate them on Scriptural principles for relationships, so they would never go through what I did. Turn your pain to power!

 

(Romans 5:3-4)- We also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.

In the midst of every difficult circumstance, be it sickness, unemployment, abuse, depression, attempted suicide, you can turn your pain into power and help others. If you’ve been a victim of physical abuse, you can help other women going through it at the moment. If you lived from hand to mouth for five years and today you’re swimming in money, remember your past and help others who are still in that pit. If you lost a friend to cancer, why not support others who have that disease and may have nobody else to care for them? Turn your pain to power!

That’s not to say that if you’ve never had an experience with Sickle Cell or Cancer, you shouldn’t help out! You may have a burden for something even if you’ve never had a close experience with it; that is beautiful! But today, I’m talking to all the people who are going through/have been through something (which is everybody), you know that by your experience, you can help somebody else, please do! You may have watched your father beat your mother everyday and you don’t want anybody else to go through her pain, I encourage you to step forward and turn your pain to power! Miracles are birthed out of circumstance. Remember, turn your pain to Power! God bless you all!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Using your gifts

4 responses to “Pain to Power

  1. Voke

    God bless u, this is my best blog!! ever since i saw this web add on anoda blog, i read all your messages nd i am super encouraged nd uplifted, its nw i knw why u do it nd may God richly bless you. May i hv the opportunity to overcome my pain nd bless others goin thru it…AMEN

    • Dear Voke,

      You are very welcome in Jesus’ Name. I am glad that God has encouraged and uplifted you. It is well! You will truly overcome your pain and turn it to power by helping others. Amen! God bless you too.

  2. Miss Pepeye

    As usual, a beautifully written piece. Thank you for the inspiration and encouragement. May God continue to uphold you too.

Leave a Reply

