Don’t miss your cheque

Good Evening everyone,

How are we all doing today? I hope you are enjoying your Saturday in whatever part of the world you’re in! I must apologise for not posting this earlier, today has been an off-day for me! Spent my time relaxing and just catching up on all the sleep I missed during the week; forgive me! I will never neglect you, that is a promise!

Today’s message is very short but I pray, hope and have so much faith that in it’s simplicity, it will change your life and motivate you to seek God through His word. Amen.

Do you read your Bible everyday?

If not, how often do you read it?

Do you have a daily devotional book?

How often do you read it?

What forms the basis for your day? Is it the message in your devotional? The news or your the argument you had with your spouse?

I want you to ask yourself this question, answer honestly and read this post, reflect on it, meditate on it and in a week, in a month, in a year, ask yourself those questions again.

The reason why I asked those questions is because I find that a lot of Christians do not read their Bible everyday! Even born again Christians and I used to be like that. I struggled to read it and the Bible really is our daily bread, it’s what we need to thrive on, not just the Sunday sermon or the midweek fellowship thrown in every now and then. How many of you know that a baby can not just live or grow by eating a special meal every Sunday? You must feed the child every single day! Otherwise, he/she will be malnourished and will die! It is exactly the same with our spiritual life; we need that daily bread to keep us going, to feed us and help us grow. We need it!

This is one of the reasons why daily devotionals were created because it’s a structured reading plan that eases you into the Bible reading. It has a title for the day, a specific  Scripture to read, a memory verse, an action point, specific prayer points for the day as well as a message. I find this very helpful, easy and captivating because it helps you get the message from the Scripture and gives you a specific action point to carry out and meditate on for that day and night. The thing I love most about devotionals is that they carry powerful prophetic declarations. For example my ODM devotional Scripture for today is  Judges 13:1-20; the story surrounding Samson’s birth and the message is basically about conception and delivery. In the sense of: whatever has been conceived in your life, family and ministry will not be aborted, miscarried or killed but will be delivered! Amen. So, I walk around holding on to this prophecy believing it in and feeling more empowered to hold on to my promises and dreams.

But even with a devotional, I still found it hard to read it everyday. I would skip some days and then read them all at once. Sometimes, I wouldn’t read the Scripture but just the message. I still wasn’t consistent, diligent or hungry enough. Until, I got a word. The day I heard this story, it changed my life, I hope it will do the same for you. Amen. I was watching a sermon online by Pastor Kingsley Okonkwo and he narrated this story.

A man was going through a very bad financial depression at a point in his life, he was extremely broke. One day, someone (I believe it was a friend or mentor) gave him a book as a gift. He received the gift, smiled and said thank you. Of course, he was broke then and must have thought “what do I need to read this book for? I need money”. So, he placed the book on his bookshelf and didn’t read it. A few years later, he was going through the shelf, picked up the book and a cheque dropped out of it. He looked at it and it was a cheque for thousands of dollars for him, signed by the man who gave him the book. He then remembered when he received the book and how broke he was then and how this amount would have solved his problem then. He felt so down; anyway he called the man who wrote out the cheque and told him he only just found it and asked if he could still retrieve the money and the man said unfortunately not anymore. Of course, he was dejected because he could have used the money then and even now but it was too late! Just because he didn’t open the book, he missed his cheque.

It is the same thing with God’s word. Every single day, he has cheques for us in His word. Through your devotional, through the Bible! You may be going through a need for example financial or you may be searching for a wife and you think “Please, I’m broke, the Bible won’t help me now”. But every day, the Lord has cheques for you; wisdom, favour, breakthrough, lifting, marital settlement and so on. Every single day in your devotional, there is a cheque for you that may solve the problem you have; if only you open it, read it, receive and claim it in Jesus’ Name. If only! Please don’t miss your cheques again! You may have missed the past ones but from this day, endeavour to cash your cheques every day and on time. AMEN. May the good Lord give you grace, thirst and strength to encounter Him everyday, receive His daily bread and commune with Him. I pray that every word you read on this blog, in your devotional, in your Bible and beyond will positively change you and never leave you the same way. Amen. Every need you have, every prayer point you pray, Oh may the good Lord answer you through His word. May you receive the answer to every prayer point this season. May every spirit of lack and want be arrested from your life by the power of His word. May He install a new spirit in you, a thirst for His word and from this day forward, you will never miss your cheques again. Amen. God bless you all. Have a fantastic weekend.

6 Comments

Filed under Communing with Christ, Serving God

6 responses to “Don’t miss your cheque

  1. eva

    can I just ask how old you are?
    your wisdom is beyond years!
    eva

    • Dear Eva,

      Thank you so much, although I would like to take credit for it, I honestly can not because I would be lying! When I blog, a topic is just laid on my heart and I write the topic down. Many a time, I do not know what I will write, sometimes I have an idea. I take to the computer and just type and when I finish and read over, I just thank God because most times, when I started, I didn’t know what I was going to say. It really is all God!

  2. God bless you sis! Inspired beyond words…

Leave a Reply

