Submission…What’s it all about?

Good Morning all,

It’s 2am in the morning and It’s been an extremely busy day but we thank God! Please forgive me for not posting earlier; I was in Church preparing for our very special Sunday service this week. I will be completing the series by Rev Funke Adejumo but before I do that, I will like to bring you a post  by Pastor Mildred Kingsley-Okonkwo (David’s Christian Centre/Love Dating & Marriage).  It will bless you; by the way it is written to address women but it will bless us all; men included. Amen.

Once upon a time, in a land far far away, there lived a handsome prince. The prince fell in love with a beautiful maiden and wanted to marry her. In that land, the only way for the prince to show everyone that he had chosen a wife was to present her with an item from the crown jewels.  The woman also had a desire to own the necklace that had diamonds and emeralds set in gold which she knew would be presented to her if the prince chose to make her his bride. The necklace was very expensive and having it meant that besides being the prince’s betrothed, she would attained a certain level of status and respect. She longed for the day he would give her the necklace. Finally the day came where both their dreams could come to pass. The prince took her out for a fantastic dinner and after they had eaten, he presented her with the lovely necklace then  asked her to turn around and bow her head so he could put the necklace around her neck but she refused saying she could do it on her own. She tried and tried but simply could not get the clasp on yet all the while, still refusing to bow down so that the prince could do it for her. Do you know where that necklace ended up? I’m sure you guessed.  Right back in the box which the prince brought it in.

What’s the moral of this whole story? It’s simple really (although, I’ll be honest, it didn’t make much sense to me too when I first heard it) the principle of the necklace is this, NO SUBMISSION, NO HONOUR. Now, before you tune off and say, “this submission thing again!” hear me out. Let me explain to you what it all means. You see if you want a beautiful necklace around your neck, you must bow your head for that to happen. Bowing your head is like submission if you want to enjoy the honour of a beautiful marriage (necklace). So let’s put it this way, NO BOWING, NO NECKLACE so also, NO SUBMISION, NO HONOUR.

I know a lot of us think that submission practically amounts to slavery but the truth of the matter is that if you are a woman and you want to have a happy home, there is no escaping it. That’s God’s secret ingredient to a happy marriage. He says in the book of Ephesians 5:22 :- that every woman should submit to her own husband as unto the lord. I’m sure if God went to all the trouble of making us as women it wasn’t just to make a slave for the man. if not, I think he could have done well enough if he had stopped at creating the monkeys all he would have done was to give them a higher IQ and I’m sure that would have been easier than going back to the drawing board to make woman.

Maybe if we understood what the word submission means we wouldn’t be so averse to the idea. SUBMISSION is simply two words put togetherSUB and MISSION. As the word implies, it is putting your own mission under that of the man you marry. So simply put, your missionbecomes asub mission of his. Now I can almost hear you say, “Thank God this is for married women.” Not so fast honey, you too will get married and the truth is I think you need this more than most married women. Why? Because you have the opportunity to make an informed choice. What do I mean? This: YOU MUST MARRY A MAN WHOSE LIFE VISION IS LARGE ENOUGH TO ACCOMMODATE YOURS. Please do not marry a man going no where or a man you cannot respect or trust to make the kind of decisions that will guarantee you a great life.

At the same time let me also say this. SUBMISSION IS NOT STUPIDITY. Submission does not mean you don’t have an opinion but that you willinglychoose to put it under his. Yes, I know what you are thinking. “E no easy o!” let me assure you it is easy if God helps you. The funny part is that we women are quick to assume that we get the tough end of the deal but the men are also expected to love while we submit. It isn’t any easier for them but if we work together it is. I know you’ll say, ‘if he loves me, then I’ll submit’ but let me assure you he is thinking the same thing: ‘if she would just submit I would love her more’. So we are stuck with the proverbial which comes first the chicken or the egg? If you are going to stand around to try to solve that riddle well I guess you’ll get to heaven before we find any happiness in marriage. So my advice? Let’s all just do what we are supposed to do irrespective of what the other person does or does not do.

So bottom line; bow down and get the pretty necklace. Till we meet again next month, do yourself a favour count your blessings, erase limitations from your mind and celebrate your victories, then surpass them. God believes in you and so do I.

Love you,
Pastor Mildred

I pray this has blessed somebody and given them the encouragement to submit to their husband and for the single, given you the wisdom to choose wisely! AMEN! May the Lord bless us with Godly spouses with great visions we can submit to; AMEN!! God bless you all.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Submission…What’s it all about?

  1. Oge

    very inspiring n truthful,bless u Pastor M

  2. elizabeth

    dear princess,can u advice me on this?i am always submissive to my husband but he doesnt appreciate.i dont know what his defination of submission is i.e.he finds joy in subduing me.he calls me all sorts of when i go wrong in his sight even when i apologise and he does not waste anytime being physical.when i sit him down for discussion,it becomes worse either.i love him so much but this whole thing is making me have less love for him.thankyou.

Leave a Reply

