Is 10% too big?

Hello everyone,

I’m believing that you are all having a wonderful and blessed day, in all those beautiful parts of the world you’re in. Okay, today’s second message is very short and sweet. Is 10% really too big? What exactly am I talking about? Your tithe! I know several Christians do not pay their tithes because they just don’t understand why or see the point. Many have good intentions but are a bit confused. Hopefully, I can help you understand why you must pay your tithes. One scripture, one scripture only!! Malachi 3:10-11

Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple. If you do,” says theLord of Heaven’s Armies, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Put me to the test!  Your crops will be abundant, for I will guard them from insects and disease. Your grapes will not fall from the vine before they are ripe,” says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies. NLT 

Simply, what it means is pay your tithes, God will prosper the works of your hands and He will never let you go hungry. I didn’t pay my tithes for many years, many! I didn’t exactly know what it was. One day, I got the divine revelation and from that moment, I faithfully paid my tithes every month! I even got into the habit of paying in advance! No matter how broke I was, the only thing that didn’t suffer was my tithes! I vowed never to keep them. This may be hard for some especially those in hard financial situations but do you realise that the 100% you have from your salary, it was God who gave you that job. Or if someone blessed you with cash, it was God who blessed you but used that person as a medium.

At that point in my life, I didn’t have a steady income so it was totally bizarre to give up 10% of the little I had but I decided to acknowledge that even the little I had was from God. So, I decided to give him 10%, I mean what harm could it do? At first, I got broke as usual and I said to myself “A will bail me out of course” but A didn’t bail me out. I was broke, no food, not a penny to my name. That was when I realised that all wealth comes from God. So, I vowed to give back 10% of everything I was given and I now said Lord, no matter where the money comes from, I now know it is from You. You won’t descend to give me the money, but you will send it to me in the form of a business deal, a job, monthly income, monetary gifts from family and so on. I just believed and still believe that. Not long after, God blessed me with a regular income. Sometimes, I would get broke and wonder how I would make it to the end of the month, yet I still pay my tithes and before the month’s end, He’s opened another door of blessing to me and I find that I have excess. I no longer look to humans or accredit my wealth to anything earthly but to God because when one channel fails, he opens several other. He says He will rebuke the devourer for your sake! He even told you to pay the tithes, He will bless you beyond capacity, He then commanded you to test Him! Oh what a Mighty God we serve! If the owner of all that we see says we should give Him just 10% and He challenged us to test Him, why are you not confident in paying your tithes? Where is your faith? Whatever it was you previously used the 10% for, He will still provide, AMEN; after all He is the Jehovah Jireh!

Besides not paying your tithes means you would be robbing God! I certainly would not be able to do that anymore? Malachi 3:8-9- “Should people cheat God? Yet you have cheated me!“But you ask, ‘What do you mean? When did we ever cheat you?’“You have cheated me of the tithes and offerings due to me. You are under a curse, for your whole nation has been cheating me.

I doubt I will like to go under a curse! That is why a lot of Christians are not blossoming financially! They are robbing God and as such are under a curse and are also not benefitting from the blessings bestowed upon us when we pay our tithes neither are they preserved from the devourer. 10% too big? I don’t think so.

Lastly, your tithe should be paid to your local Church. Not directly to a worker in Church, not to a Charity or as an offering! You will notice that Malachi 3:8 mentions tithes AND offerings! I.e they are not the same. Your tithe is 10% of your total income; salary, monetary gifts, one off returns and so on.

An offering however is separate from this and this is what we give when we worship or gather in His Name. It’s an act of worship and service; whatever God lays upon your heart to give. This is usually far less than the tithe.

A seed is not a tithe nor an offering. This is when you pay a specific amount of money into a Church or even a person’s life, with the hope of blessing a person or a particular project in Church. For example, on Sunday, you pay your £10,000 tithe, your £100 offering and God lays it upon your heart to give the Pastor or a widow in Church a certain amount of money. Or the Church may ask for proceeds towards a project or venture in Church which you sow towards. This is spirit led and not compulsory.

Partnerships  are also spirit led non-compulsory donations to a Church, Charity or ministry in which you make regular payments to support their work (normally weekly or monthly fixed amounts).

Many people have their reservations for not paying their tithes- The Pastors are too flashy, I can’t see where the money is going, I don’t like my Church! If you don’t feel comfortable in your Church or if you do not trust the leadership, please leave that Church and find a new one where you can see your tithes and offerings doing the work God wants it to do. Don’t stay in a Church where lives aren’t being impacted. I have no problem giving my tithes or offerings to my Church because I can definitely see that the money is being well spent; we have several community outreach programmes, where we feed the poor, send the gospels to the prisons and homes. I know that God is doing a good work and I am happy to be a tool in that and I know God will surely bless and protect me and mine. AMEN.

I hope this has encouraged someone to step out in faith and pay their tithes and offerings accordingly!! God bless you all.

2 Comments

Filed under Communing with Christ, Leadership, Serving God

2 responses to “Is 10% too big?

  1. sisiblu

    Hi Poz (Easier to Type..Hehe)

    ‘Don’t stay in a Church where lives are being impacted.’ I think you meant where lives are not being impacted.

    I love this post. My own take on it is, GIVING IS BETWEEN YOU AND GOD. People need to look past how the money is being spent, our part is to drop it, talk to God about it and let it go.

    Plus the giving principles work o, for believers and unbelievers alike. Sadly, believers are the ones that are more reluctant, probably due to a few bad experiences. Again, its between you and God so stop looking to human beings to fulfill God’s promise. Some people give only to people they know can repay them in the future. I digress.

    Back to tithing, please let’s not rob God. May God open the eyes of our understanding.

    • Dear sisblu,

      You’re welcome in Jesus Name! Thank you for the correction, will correct it now. God bless!!

      I love your spirit and total obedience to that Word. It is very rare to find, God will make you a Kingdom financier! AMEN! Your career and business will be a strong financial pillar in His house. AMEN.

      You are very true!! Even people that go to herbalists and native doctors are asked to give as some sort of sacrifice! Giving is practised even by dark powers, so much more us Christians?

      Thank you so much for this comment, it will bless and liberate someone!! AMEN!!

Leave a Reply

